Columbia Trails

Our daughter has moved to Columbia, Mo., and we went there last weekend to visit her and her man, Patrick, who owns Renew Missouri.  This company advocates for more clean energy in our state.

Saturday afternoon Jan attended a yoga workshop put on by Sarah while Patrick and I headed out to do some of Columbia’s famous trails.  I had brought the Steed along for this very purpose.

We got on the MKT Fitness Trail that connects Columbia with the Missouri State Park KATY Trail.

We got on the MKT Fitness Trail from a center city trailhead. This trail connects Columbia with the Missouri State Park KATY Trail.

This Fitness Trail is a rails to trails project.  I fell in love with it.  I don’t want to gush too much, but I applaud Columbia and their Parks Department for the work put into the trail system in the city.  It reminded me of Colorado Springs.

I guess one can find these all over.

I guess one can find these all over.

We turned off a few times to explore a secondary spur, trail head, or city park.  One spur had a 100 foot climb that included a switchback.  I thought of Gerry!

Once outside the urban center of Columbia, the trail turns to packed limestone. We saw no evidence of rain washed damage, but then it has not rained here for quite a while.

Once outside the urban center of Columbia, the trail turns to packed limestone. We saw no evidence of rain washed damage, but then it has not rained here for quite a while.

Twin Lakes Recreation Area was our farthest point west.  It has a fenced in dog park that we walked through.  Before going in I asked Patrick if it was wise for cyclists to go through this area!  We thought about it and elected to walk.  No incident.

On the way back in we stopped at the Martin Luther King Memorial Garden. The granite pillars are inscribed with various quotes from the Reverend.

On the way back in we stopped at the Martin Luther King Memorial Garden. The granite pillars are inscribed with various quotes from the Reverend.

We stopped at the yoga studio and brought chocolate covered strawberries for everyone at the workshop.  They were happy.

Following that we went north to Patrick’s parent’s farm where we stayed for the night. They live about thirty minutes north of Columbia and west of Clark before one gets to Moberly.

Sunday morning breakfast included a quail egg omelet and homemade banana bread.

The neighbors across the road raise quail and supply Patrick's parents with eggs. Tasted like regular chicken eggs.

The neighbors across the road raise quail and supply Patrick’s parents with eggs. Tasted like regular chicken eggs.

On the return trip to Columbia that afternoon we stopped to enjoy Pinnacle Camp.  My phone camera would not cooperate so you will have to just trust me on this one.  The trees with their fall leaves were a beauty.

Possibly on our next visit Jan can bring her bike also and the four of us can do the trails.  I certainly plan to.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Columbia Trails

  1. Juanita Kern says:

    Hey, Ron…it is great getting your blogs and photos!  I love being able to see some of the beautiful places around Missouri that I would otherwise never get to see and be able to get a little better acquainted with my adopted state.  Sorry to report that I never did get to find my black-eyed peas this year! Guess I will have to suffer through eating the commercially packaged ones from the store this next year.  Enjoy this lovely weather while it lasts!

    • rlhoover says:

      All Missouri lacks that California has is the Pacific shoreline, mountains, and a terrible state budget. As I mentioned, the trees were wonderful, mainly the hard maples, not like the varieties of oak we have here in the Ozarks. I cannot share your sorrow over black-eyed peas. I am not a fan of them, either fresh or packaged!

  2. tootlepedal says:

    I am sorry to miss the trees in their autumn colours but the trail looked great fun. I am impressed by your hill climbing exploit.

    • rlhoover says:

      Thank you. As I was heading down the ‘hill’ I saw a sign, ‘Switchback Ahead’. I wish I had gotten a picture of it, but was going on and did not want to expend the effort to re-climb. I promise to get a picture the next time I am there.

  3. Gerry says:

    A switchback. Now I really have to visit the Ozarks!

Leave a Reply

