Morning ride

I got out this morning and decided to replicate a ride I did a little over seven years ago.  I got on the Steed and headed south and east out to Temple Israel.

IMG_0161

The Temple has some fine raised beds where they are growing onions.

IMG_0162

On the way out I went through Millwood, a golfing community.  On the way back I tackled FR 186 and its infamous valley.

IMG_0163

I barely made half the speed limit going downhill!

Coming back into town I went by the community garden that was built by Schweitzer Methodist Church.

IMG_0164

Arrived home with 20+ miles, and that not on the road bike!

Finally, I put up a new clothes line for us to use this summer.  Already, my goal is to not drop a second [!] clothes pin.  The past has come to haunt me!

Stay happy,

twofeet

 

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Morning ride

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Some very fine raised beds there and an some nice traffic free roads.

  2. rlhoover says:

    I think it time to update this post. The slow fall I had in the parking lot resulted in a slow bleed in the left side of my head [subdural hematoma]. Two months later I started having bouts of aphasia. That, and the head aches on the right side resulted in a trip to the ER with a craniotomy a few days later. I was impressed with the ER doctor. He looked at the CT scan and asked if I had fallen two months previously! He nailed it to the day. After two weeks in the hospital [two surgeries] and two weeks rehab [with an excellent speech therapist] I came home and was only allowed to drive again on 1 October. The bike will return after December [barring complications]. God has been gracious and my wife Jan has been a dear. I wore my helmet and it still happened. Stay happy.

Leave a Reply

