Three cyclists and six wheels

Yesterday’s changed plans set up a chance meeting.

We had planned on riding to Rogerville last night, but when I woke up to a dead battery in the truck, events were shifted for the rest of the day. 

Our final change for the day was that we put off riding and moved up dinner plans with some Rogersville friends from next Saturday to last night.  On the way to dinner I saw a cyclist coming up to an intersection.  Now, we are always looking at other cyclists, if they have a helmet, their bike, do they seem in shape, commuter or just out and about.  That sort of thing. 

From the time of day and the location we were at, I thought that I may know this guy. 

I was right.

“Jan, that’s Tracy Wilkins!  He does the SpringfieldCyclist blog.  Reading his blog gave me the idea that I could possibly do the same thing.”

I wanted to meet him, but there was really no good place to stop.  However, at a red light later on, hope revived, and he got in front of us.  We all were on a three lane road with plenty of side streets.  After passing him [yes, I gave him plenty of room], I pulled off onto a side street and waved him down.

I think he enjoyed the meeting as much as I did, if such a thing is possible.  Jan took our picture for him and we may ride together soon. 

But to go your speed, Tracy, I will have to draft!

 Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Three cyclists and six wheels

  1. Pingback: People I see – 4/8/2011 « SpringfieldCyclist.com – Tracy Wilkins’ Cycling Weblog

Leave a comment